Shenzhen YuJiaxin Hardware Products Co., Ltd.
Chinese | English | Japanese   
  TECHNOLOGY
  Your Current Position Home > TECHNOLOGY > Detailed Process Description

Metal powder injection molding (MIM) technology for micro gears
 

Date[2020/12/1]
 

1 Micro gear MIM production process and parameter selection
Figure 1 is a schematic diagram of the MIM process, and Figure 2 is the experimental selection method of the process parameters and the main parameters of the MIM technology for mass production of a small gear.

 


2 Selection of metal powder and binder
The particle size of the metal powder used in the MIM process is generally 0.5-20 m. In theory, the finer the particles, the larger the specific surface area, which is easier to shape and sinter. At present, the main methods of producing powder for MIM are: water atomization method, gas atomization method, and base method. Each method has its own advantages and disadvantages: the water atomization method is the main powdering process. It has high efficiency and economical large-scale production. It can make the powder finer, but the shape is irregular, which is conducive to shape retention. There are more binding agents, which affect the accuracy. In addition, the oxide film formed by the high-temperature reaction of water and metal hinders sintering. The gas atomization method is the main method for producing powder for MIM. The powder produced is spherical, with low oxidation degree, less binder required, good formability, but high price and poor shape retention. The powder produced by the base method has high purity and extremely fine particle size. It is most suitable for MIM, but it is limited to Fe, Ni and other powders, which cannot meet the requirements of a variety of materials. In order to meet the requirements of MIM powder, many milling companies have improved the above methods, and have also developed micro-atomization, laminar atomization and other milling methods. The selection of powder should be comprehensively considered from the aspects of MIM technology, product shape, performance, and price. Nowadays, water atomized powder and gas atomized powder are usually mixed. The former increases the tap density and the latter maintains shape retention. Because the gear is used in a corrosive environment, water atomized 316L stainless steel powder is used. Its chemical composition (mass fraction) is Cr: 17.0%, N: 11.5%, Mo: 2.2%, C: no more than 0.3%, Fe: about 69%. Its physical properties are shown in Table 1.

 


In the process of MIM, the binder plays a very important role, it directly affects the mixing, injection molding, degreasing and other processes, and has a great impact on the quality of the injection molded blank, degreasing and dimensional accuracy, and alloy composition. The adhesives used in MIM include thermoplastic systems, thermosetting systems, water-soluble systems, gel systems, and special systems. They each have their own advantages and disadvantages. The thermoplastic adhesive system is the mainstream and leader of MIM adhesives. Binders are used less frequently. Although this type of binder has good shape retention, it is difficult to remove. Here, the binder adopts a thermoplastic binder with a formula of 70% paraffin wax and 30% high-density polyethylene.

 

3 Mixing, granulation and injection molding
After the powder and binder are determined, they must be mixed. Mixing is a complicated process to improve powder fluidity and complete dispersion. Commonly used mixing devices include twin-screw extruders, Z-shaped impeller mixers, double planetary mixers, etc. The continuous mixing process is currently being developed. The feeding rate, mixing temperature, rotation speed, etc. during mixing will affect the mixing effect. Here, the powder and binder are mixed on a dual planetary mixer for 1.5 h at a 63:37 loading (volume fraction), and the mixing temperature is 13010C. The powder and binder are fully mixed and then mixed in the single Pelletizing on the screw extrusion device, the pelletizing temperature is 130-150, and the screw rotation speed is 40 r/min. Use TMC60EV injection molding machine for injection molding. One of the key issues of injection molding is the design of molding, including product design and mold design. Although the products currently produced can range from 0.003 g to 200 g, and important progress has been made in improving accuracy, most designs, especially mold design, are based on experience and lack reliable design knowledge. CAD systems are difficult to apply well. MIM. The principle of plastic molds has been used to gradually standardize MIM molds. With the accumulation of experience, the time for mold design and production will be greatly reduced, and multi-cavity molds are used as much as possible to improve injection efficiency.


The purpose of injection molding is to obtain a defect-free formed blank of the desired shape. The injection defect cannot be eliminated in the subsequent process, so this step must be strictly controlled. Ultrasonic testing technology can detect the internal defects of the injection molded blank. The defect control in the injection stage is currently mainly operated by experience. With the advancement of science and technology, the use of computer to simulate the injection molding process of feeding, and to link it with the feeding performance, optimize the injection condition parameters and eliminate injection defects is the current advanced experimental method and the future development trend. There are reports abroad on the application of moldflow to the analysis of MIM injection process, and good results have been obtained. We also tried to apply this technology, but found that the simulation results did not match the experimental results very well. This aspect needs further research.

 

4Degreasing and pre-sintering
The degreasing method adopts thermal degreasing. The thermal degreasing process should be reasonably determined according to the thermal decomposition characteristics of the binder components. At the same time, it is necessary to prevent defects such as bubbling and cracking of the degreased body due to the fast degreasing speed. As stainless steel powder is very sensitive to carbon content, it is necessary to choose a reducing atmosphere to prevent residual carbon from the decomposition of the binder. In the temperature range from room temperature to 200C, the decomposition of paraffin is mainly the binder. Medium paraffin is the most important component, so in order to successfully remove paraffin, the heating speed is generally lower than 1/min. The degreasing furnace of this process is in a hydrogen atmosphere. The degreasing temperature is below 200 and the heating rate is 0.8/min. When the temperature reaches 200, the temperature is kept for 1.5 hours, and then the temperature is increased to 450 for h at a rate of 1.5/min. , To remove the binder of the polymer component high-density polyethylene, and form a continuous hole. After 450, use 4/min to quickly raise the temperature to 800 and keep it for 45 minutes to completely decompose the polymer component in the binder, and complete the degreasing and pre-sintering of the blank.

 

 

5 sintering
Sintering is carried out in a vacuum sintering furnace with a vacuum degree of 0.1 Pa,


The sintering process is as follows: the temperature rises to 1000C at a heating rate of 4C/min, the temperature is kept for 45 minutes, and the sintering temperature is quickly raised to 1 380 10(C) at 6C/min, and the temperature is kept for 45 minutes. Room temperature. The sintering temperature should be as stable as possible. The sintering temperature fluctuates by tens of degrees Celsius, which can cause the sintering density to fluctuate by 10% and the shrinkage rate to change by 3%.

The dimensional accuracy and mechanical properties of the final product:

For finished parts (as shown in Figure 3), metallographic analysis and mechanical performance tests were carried out on the standard specimens prepared with the parts. The metallographic structure of the part is pure austenite, and its mechanical performance test results: the yield strength is 220 MPa, the tensile strength is 510 MPa, and the elongation is 45%.

Take any 10 pieces and measure the average density to be 98.8% of the theoretical density. Basically reached the theoretical performance index, meet the use requirements. The structure and size meet the accuracy requirements, and no processing is required.

深圳市御嘉鑫科技股份有限公司
中文繁体 | English | Japanese   
工艺介绍  工艺介绍
医疗器械配件  你当前的位置:首页 > 工艺介绍 > 详细工艺说明

微小齿轮的金属粉末注射成型(MIM)技术
 

发布日期:[2020/12/1]
 

1微小齿轮MIM生产工艺过程及参数选择

大批量生产某微小齿轮的工艺参数及其主要参数的实验选择方法。

 


2金属粉末及粘结剂的选择
MIM工艺所用金属粉末颗粒尺寸一般在0.5-20 μm。从理论上讲,颗粒越细,比表面积也越大,易于成型和烧结。目前生产MIM用粉末的主要方法有:水雾化法、气体雾化法、拨基法。每种方法各有其优缺点:水雾化法是主要的制粉工艺,其效率高、大规模生产比较经济,可使粉末细微化,但形状不规则,这有利于保形,可是用粘结剂较多,影响精度。此外,水与金属高温反应形成的氧化膜妨碍烧结。气体雾化法是生产MIM用粉的主要方法,它生产的粉末为球形,氧化程度低,所需粘结剂少,成形性好,但价格高,保形性差。拨基法生产的粉末纯度高、粒度极细,它最适合于MIM ,但仅限于Fe, Ni等粉体,不能满足材料多品种的要求。为了满足MIM用粉的要求,许多制粉公司对上述方法进行了改进,还发展了微雾化、层流雾化等制粉方法。选用粉末要从MIM技术、产品形状、性能、价格等多方面综合考虑,现在通常是水雾化粉和气雾化粉混合使用,前者提高振实密度后者维持保形性。由于该齿轮使用在腐蚀性的环境中,故而采用水雾化316L不锈钢粉末,其化学成分(质量分数)为,Cr:17. 0%,N:11.5%, Mo:2.2%,C:不大于0.3%,Fe:69%左右。其物理性质如表1。

 


在MIM中工艺,粘结剂起着十分重要的作用,它直接影响着混合、注射成形、脱脂等工序,对注射成形坯的质量、脱脂及尺寸精度、合金成分等有很大的影响。MIM所使用的粘结剂包括热塑性体系、热固性体系、水溶性体系、凝胶体系及特殊体系,它们各有其优缺点,热塑性粘结剂体系是MIM粘结剂的主流和先导,热固性体系粘结剂应用较少,虽然这类粘结剂的保形性好,但是脱除比较困难。在此,粘结剂采用热塑性粘结剂,其配方为70%的石蜡和30%高密度聚乙烯。

 

3混炼、制粒与注射成形
粉末和粘结剂确定后要进行混炼,混炼是一个复杂的改善粉末流动性和完成分散的过程。常用的混炼装置有双螺杆挤出机、Z形叶轮混料机、双行星混炼机等,目前正在发展连续混炼工艺。混炼时的加料速率、混炼温度、转速等都会影响混炼的效果。在此将粉末和粘结剂按63 : 37的装载量(体积分数)在双行星混炼机上混炼1.5 h,混炼温度为130土10℃,使粉末和粘结剂充分混合然后在单螺杆挤出装置上制粒,制粒温度采用130℃-150℃,螺杆旋转转速为40 r/min。使用TMC60EV型注射机注射成形。注射成形关键问题之一是有关成形的各项设计,其中包括产品设计、模具设计。尽管目前生产的产品可从0.003 g-200 g,而且在改进精度方面已取得了重要进步,然而大多数设计特别是模具设计是凭经验,缺少可靠的设计知识,CAD系统难以很好地应用于MIM。现已运用塑料模具的原理逐步将MIM的模具标准化,随着经验的积累,模具设计和制作的时间将会大大减少,尽可能多地使用多模腔模具以提高注射效率。


注射成形的目的是获得所需形状的无缺陷成形坯,注射缺陷在后续工艺中不可消除,因此这个步骤要严格控制。采用超声检测技术可检测出注射成形坯的内部缺陷。注射阶段的缺陷控制目前主要还是凭经验操作。随着科学技术的进步,采用计算机模拟喂料的注射充模过程,并将其和喂料性能等相联系,优化注射条件参数,消除注射缺陷是目前先进的实验手段,也是未来的发展趋势。国外有报道将moldflow应用于MIM注射过程分析,并取的较好效果,我们也试应用该技术,但发现模拟结果与实验结果不能很好符合,这方面还有待与进一步研究。

 

4脱脂与预烧结
脱脂方法采用热脱脂,热脱脂工艺要根据粘结剂组元的热分解特性合理确定,同时还要防止因为脱脂速度过快,使脱脂坯产生鼓泡、开裂等缺陷。由于不锈钢粉对含碳量十分敏感,因此要选择还原性气氛,防止因粘结剂分解而产生残碳,在室温到200℃的温度区内主要为石蜡的分解,本工艺过程中粘结剂中石蜡为最主要的组份,因此为了成功脱除石蜡,加温速度一般要低于1℃/min。本工艺的脱脂炉内是氢气气氛,脱脂温度为200℃以下以0.8℃/min的加热速度升温,待温度达到200℃时保温1.5 h,然后以1.5℃/min的速度升至450℃保温h,以脱去粘结剂的聚合物组元高密度聚乙烯,并形成连通孔。450℃以后用4℃/min的速度快速升温至800℃后保温45 min,使粘结剂中的聚合物组份完全分解,并完成脱脂和毛坯的预烧结。

 

 

5烧结
烧结在真空烧结炉中进行,真空度为0.1 Pa,


烧结过程为:开始以4℃/min的升温速度升至1000℃,保温45 min,再以6 ℃/min快速升至烧结温度1 380 ±10(℃),保温45 min,然后随炉冷却至常温。烧结温度应尽可能稳定,烧结温度波动几十摄氏度,可导致烧结密度波动10%,收缩率改变3%。

最终产品的尺寸精度及机械性能:

成品零件(如图3),对与零件一同备制的标准试样进行了金相分析和力学性能试验。零件的金相组织为纯奥氏体,其力学性能试验结果:屈服强度为220 MPa,拉伸强度为510 MPa,延伸率为45%,

任取10件测得其平均密度为理论密度得98. 8%。基本达到了理论上的性能指标,满足使用要求。结构及尺寸均满足精度要求,不需要加工处理。

 




铝型材自动切割机 |  金属粉末冶金 |  御豪达电镀 |  御嘉鑫国际站 |  MIM金属注射成型加工 |  电锅炉 |